MAINE REVENUE SERVICES
PROPERTY TAX DIVISION

2025 Municipal Valuation Return
Instructions

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

Maine Revenue Services (MRS) recommends filing the annual Municipal Valuation Return (MVR) on
the Maine Tax Portal (MTP) at: revenue.maine.gov. This electronic filing will enable assessors to view
their submitted returns and issued reimbursements online. You will need an account ID, which can be
obtained from a municipality's MTP administrator, or by contacting the Property Tax Division at
207-624-5600. You will also need to use templates provided by MRS, available at: maine.gov/revenue/
taxes/property-tax/affidavits-applications-certificates.

If you are unable to file the MVR using the MTP, you must submit the MVR using the Excel (.xIsx)
template, available at: maine.gov/revenue/taxes/property-tax/affidavits-applications-certificates. 1f you
are otherwise unable to file the MVR using the Excel template, you may submit the MVR using the PDF
(.pdf) template, available at the link provided above. You may submit the completed MVR to the
Property Tax Division at prop.tax@maine.gov. If you submit the MVR to the Property Tax Division via
email, it must be submitted using the file's original file format (.xlsx or .pdf). MRS will not accept an
MVR with a converted file format (e.g., a file converted from .xlsx to .pdf).

If you are otherwise unable to file the MVR using electronic means, you may request that a paper copy
of the MVR be mailed to you from MRS. You may mail the completed, signed MVR to Maine Revenue
Services, Property Tax Division, PO Box 9106, Augusta, ME 04332-9106 and affix a copy of the
completed MVR to the front cover of your municipality’s Valuation Book.

For additional help in filling out this return, email the Property Tax Division at: prop.tax@maine.gov or
call 207-624-5600.

The MVR is an annual return that municipal assessors file with MRS. The MVR includes assessments of
property and collection of taxes for land, buildings, and personal property. The value of each property
classification in the municipality and the certified ratio are also reported. This document provides
instructions for completing the 2025 MVR.

You must submit the completed MVR to MRS no later than November 1 or 30 days from commitment,
whichever is later. MRS imposes a penalty for late filed forms. For municipalities with a population of
2,000 or less, the penalty is $50.00 for the first late day and $10.00 for each late day thereafter. For
municipalities with a population over 2,000, the penalty is $100.00 for the first late day and $20.00 for
each late day thereafter. The penalty will be deducted from the municipality’s Tree Growth Tax Law
program reimbursement, the veteran exemption reimbursement, and/or the homestead exemption
reimbursement.



Determination of tree growth, homestead, and veteran reimbursements cannot be completed until MRS
receives the MVR. Late filing will delay reimbursement checks. Accurate data is vital to ensuring
proper municipal reimbursements, State Valuation determinations, and published statistical information.

All applications and forms must be available for inspection during your annual state valuation audit.

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS
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Line 1: County and Commitment Date. Enter your municipality’s county and the municipality
commitment date. The commitment date is the date the assessor signs over the property tax list to the
tax collector (or the sheriff in certain cases).

Line 2: Municipality. Enter the municipality name.

Commitment period. Select the appropriate period from the drop down list: 6 months, 12 months, or
18 months. Typically, commitments encompass the 12-month period from April 1 to March 31.

Line 3: 2025 Certified Ratio. The certified ratio is the level of municipal assessed value, expressed as
a percentage of just (market) value, as declared on the current year’s Certified Ratio Declaration Form.
This ratio may be either: (1) the developed parcel ratio determined by MRS and reported to the
municipality; or (2) a ratio of assessed value to just value, calculated by the municipality, for the current
tax year. If the municipality’s calculated ratio varies from the most recent developed parcel ratio by
more than 10%, the ratio must have been approved by MRS before the municipality may claim that
ratio on line 3.

Taxable Value of Real Estate

For lines 4 — 6, enter amounts from the municipal commitment book. Do not include exempt property
value on these lines.

Line 4: Land. Enter the total taxable assessed value of land in the municipality. Include the assessed
value of transmission and distribution lines, pipelines, dams, and power plants. Do not include any land
value from line 40 (exempt property).

Line 5: Buildings. Enter the total taxable assessed value of buildings in the municipality. This amount
should be the total taxable assessed value of all real estate that is not included on line 4. Do not include
any building value from line 14 (homestead exemptions) or line 40 (exempt property).

Line 6: Total taxable value of real estate. Enter line 4 plus line 5. The amount on this line will be
entered on line 1 of the Tax Rate Form.



Taxable Value of Personal Property

For lines 7 — 10, enter amounts from the municipal commitment book. Do not include exempt property
value on these lines.

Line 7: Production machinery and equipment. Enter the taxable assessed value of production
machinery and equipment, excluding the value of pipelines. “Machinery and equipment” means
machinery, equipment and parts and attachments for machinery and equipment, but excludes
foundations for machinery and equipment and special purpose buildings used to house or support
machinery and equipment. Production machinery and equipment does not include any real estate
included on line 6.

Line 8: Business equipment. Enter the taxable assessed value of business-related personal property by
a business (furniture, furnishings, and fixtures) and not included on line 7.

Line 9: All other personal property. Enter the total taxable assessed value of all other personal
property not included on lines 7 or 8. This amount may include property brought into Maine after April
1 and prior to December 31, if the property is not being assessed in another Maine municipality.

Line 10: Total taxable value of personal property. Enter the sum of lines 7 — 9. The amount on this
line will be entered on line 2 of the Tax Rate Form.

Other Tax Information

Line 11: Total taxable value of real estate and personal property. Enter line 6 plus line 10. This
value must match line 3 of the Tax Rate Form.

Line 12: 2025 Property Tax Rate. Enter the selected rate from line 19, column B of the Tax Rate
Form. This is the decimal tax rate rather than the mill rate.

Line 13: 2025 Property Tax Levy. Compute the property tax levy by multiplying line 11 by line 12.
This amount must match the amount of the tax committed to the tax collector and the amount on line 19
of the Tax Rate Form.

Homestead Exemption Reimbursement Claim

You must adjust each $25,000 homestead exemption by the municipality’s certified ratio on line 3. The
number and value of the exemptions entered in this section are split into two groups: 1) homesteads
valued at or above the exemption amount adjusted by the certified ratio; and 2) homesteads valued
below the exemption amount adjusted by the certified ratio.

Line 14a: Number of maximum homestead exemptions granted. Enter the total number of
homestead exemptions granted for each property valued at or above the maximum homestead
exemption amount ($25,000 x line 3 certified ratio). For example, if your certified ratio is 90%, your
maximum allowed homestead exemption amount is $22,500 ($25,000 x 0.90) and you would enter the
number of exemptions for $22,500 that you granted this year. This line plus line 14c¢ should equal the
total number of homestead exemptions granted in your municipality.



Line 14b: Value of maximum homestead exemptions (line 14a x $25,000 x line 3 certified ratio). Enter
the total value for the maximum homestead exemptions granted. Multiply the number of exemptions on
line 14a by the maximum homestead exemption amount ($25,000 x line 3).

Line 14¢: Number of exemptions granted for homesteads valued at less than the maximum. Enter
the number of properties where the homestead assessed value is less than the maximum homestead
exemption amount. For example, if your certified ratio is 90%, the maximum homestead exemption is
$22,500 and you would enter on this line the number of exemptions granted for homesteads assessed at
less than that amount. This line plus line 14a should equal the total number of homestead exemptions
granted in your municipality.

Line 14d: Value of homestead exemptions on line 14¢. Enter the total exempt value of properties
valued at less than the maximum homestead exemption amount.

Line 14e: Total number of homestead exemptions granted. Enter the sum of lines 14a and 14c.

Line 14f: Total value of all homestead exemptions granted. Enter the sum of lines 14b and 14d. This
amount will be entered on line 4a of the Tax Rate Form.

Line 14g: Total assessed value of all property with homestead exemptions. Enter the assessed value
(including taxable and exempt value) of land and buildings for all properties that receive a homestead
exemption.
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Business Equipment Tax Exemption (“BETE”)

Line 15a: Number of BETE applications processed for tax year 2025. Enter the total number of
BETE applications you received from taxpayers for the assessment year beginning on April 1, 2025,
regardless of whether you accepted the exemptions. State reimbursement payments for municipal
processing costs are based on the number of applications you received and processed.

Line 15b: Number of BETE applications approved. Enter the number of BETE applications from
line 15a that you approved for exemption.

Line 15¢: Total exempt value of all BETE property. This is the total value of property exempted
through the BETE program for the 4/1/25 commitment.). This amount will be entered on line 5a of the
Tax Rate Form and on line 1a of the Enhanced BETE Sheet.

Line 15d: Total exempt value of BETE property in TIF districts with captured assessed value.
Enter the value of BETE exemptions for property located in a Tax Increment Financing district where
the municipality applies some or all of the tax associated with development in the district to authorized
project costs (see the Tax Increment Financing section below). The amount on this line should include
all BETE exempt value, regardless of whether it is subject to enhanced BETE reimbursement.

Tax Increment Financing (“TIF” Districts

This section identifies the captured assessed value of TIF districts designated by the municipality.
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Line 16a: Total amount of increased taxable value within TIF districts. Enter on this line the sum
for all TIF Districts of the current taxable value of property within each TIF district less the original
assessed value of that TIF district. If a TIF district captured assessed value includes only real estate (or
only personal property), then include only taxable real estate value (or personal property value) in the
calculation for this line. The increased taxable value may be greater than the captured assessed value
entered on line 16b. If the current taxable value for a TIF District is less than the original assessed value
for that district, the increased taxable value for that district is zero. Property that is partially or fully
exempt, such as homesteads or equipment in the BETE program, is not taxable and therefore is not
included on this line (see instructions for BETE reimbursement revenue on Line 16d below).

Line 16b: Amount of captured assessed value within TIF districts. Enter the amount from line 16a
that is captured by the municipality as directed in the TIF district financial plans. This amount on this
line multiplied by the municipal tax rate on the Tax Rate Form, line 19, column B should equal the total
of line 16¢ plus line 16d.

Line 16¢: Tax revenue deposited in a project cost account or a sinking fund account. Enter on this
line the property tax revenue that is appropriated and deposited into a TIF district development program
fund, to be used for approved TIF district project costs. Do not include BETE reimbursement revenue
on this line.

Line 16d: BETE reimbursement revenue deposited in a project cost or sinking fund account.
Enter the amount of BETE reimbursement revenue from the State that is deposited into a TIF district
development program fund, to be used for approved TIF district project costs. The amount on this line
is limited to the reimbursement related to property subject to the BETE exemption that is located within
a TIF district and included in the captured assessed value of that district.

Line 16c plus line 16d must equal the TIF financing plan revenue on line 9 of the Tax Rate Form. This
amount is also reported on the Municipal Tax Assessment Warrant for the property tax year and is the
amount that will be sheltered from state valuation.

Excise Tax
Line 17a: Enter whether excise taxes are collected based on a calendar or fiscal year. If your
municipality’s financial reporting is based on a calendar year (January 1 — December 31), enter

“Calendar.” Otherwise, enter “Fiscal.”

Line 17b: Motor vehicle excise tax collected. Enter the total amount of motor vehicle excise tax
collected during the most recently ended fiscal or calendar year based on line 17a.

Line 17c: Watercraft excise tax collected. Enter the total amount of watercraft excise tax collected
during the most recently ended fiscal or calendar year based on line 17a.

Electrical Generation and Distribution Property

Line 18: Total value of distribution and transmission lines owned by electric utility companies.
Enter the total assessed value of distribution and transmission lines (including cable, power lines, and



poles) within your municipality that are owned by electric utility companies. Exclude any property not
considered distribution and transmission related, such as vacant land.

Line 19: Total value of all electrical generation facilities. Enter the total value of electrical
generation facilities in your municipality that are owned by utility companies. Enter on this line the
value of property not included on line 18. This includes substations, transformers, and other property
such as utility scale solar farms that are not exempt from property tax under 36 M.R.S. §§ 655 and/or
656.

Tree Growth Tax Law Program Property

Line 20: Average per acre value applied to undeveloped acreage. Enter the average value you
assess for land that has not been developed and is not enrolled in any current use program (tree growth,
open space, farmland, or working waterfront).

Lines 21a — 21e: Forest land. Exclude land classified as farm woodland in the Farmland program.
Enter farm woodland on page 3, line 28.

Line 21a: Number of parcels enrolled in the Tree Growth Tax Law program as of April 1,
2025. Enter the number of parcels enrolled in the tree growth program, even if the parcels have
been withdrawn after April 1.

Line 21b: Softwood acreage. Enter the total number of acres in the Tree Growth Tax Law
program assessed as softwood acres.

Line 21c¢: Mixed wood acreage. Enter the total number of acres in the Tree Growth Tax Law
program assessed as mixed wood acres.

Line 21d: Hardwood acreage. Enter the total number of acres in the Tree Growth Tax Law
program assessed as hardwood acres.

Line 21e: Total number of acres of forest land. Enter total acreage of forest land enrolled in
the Tree Growth Tax Law program as of April 1, 2025. The acreage on this line should relate to
the number of parcels on line 21a.

Line 22: Total assessed value of all forest land as of April 1, 2025. Multiply the acreage from each
of lines 21b, 21¢ and 21d by the related value per acre on lines 22a(1), 22a(2) and 22a(3). Add the
three amounts and enter the total on this line.

Line 22a: Local values per acre used to assess forest land. Enter the 2025 per acre values for
your county, as published in MRS Rule 202 — Maine Tree Growth Tax Law Valuations, multiplied
by the certified ratio on page 1, line 3.
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Line 23: Number of forest land acres first enrolled in the Tree Growth Tax Law program in
2025. Enter the number of acres from new applications submitted between 4/2/24 and 4/1/25 and
approved for the tax year beginning 4/1/25.

Line 24: Land withdrawn from the Tree Growth Tax Law program. Enter information relating to
forest land that has been withdrawn from the Tree Growth Tax Law program. Include parcels that were
transferred from Tree Growth to another current use program (open space, farmland, working
waterfront). For Lines 24a-24c, include withdrawals first effective 4/1/2025.

Line 24-1: Since April 1, 2024, have any Tree Growth acres been transferred to Farmland? If any
land was transferred from Tree Growth to farm woodland in the Farmland program first effective on
April 1, 2025 enter “Yes” on this line; if not, enter “No.” Property Tax Division staff will contact those
towns reporting transfers from Tree Growth to Farmland. These acres will be included in the municipal
tree growth reimbursement calculation for as long as the land remains in the Farmland program.

Farm and Open Space Tax Law Program Property
Farmland

Line 25: Number of parcels enrolled in the Farmland program as of April 1, 2025. Enter the
number of all parcels enrolled in the Farmland program on this date, even those parcels that have been
withdrawn after April 1, 2025.

Line 26: Number of acres first enrolled in the Farmland program for April 1, 2025. Enter the
number of acres from new applications submitted between 4/2/24 and 4/1/25 and approved for the tax
year beginning 4/1/25.

Line 27a: Total number of acres (excluding farm woodland enrolled in the Farmland program.

Enter the total acreage of all land classified as crop land, orchard land, and pasture land as of April 1,

2025. Include land that has been withdrawn from the Farmland program after Aprill, 2025 (effective
beginning April 1, 2025). Do not include farm woodland acres.

Line 27b: Total value of land (excluding farm woodland currently enrolled in the Farmland
program. Enter the total value of all the acreage included on line 27a.

Line 28a: Number of farm woodland acres. Do not include any land in the Tree Growth Tax Law
program.

Line 28a (1): Softwood. Enter the total acreage of softwood forested farm woodland enrolled in
the farmland program as of April 1, 2025.

Line 28a (2): Mixed wood. Enter the total acreage of mixed wood forested farm woodland
enrolled in the farmland program as of April 1, 2025.



Line 28a (3): Hardwood. Enter the total acreage of hardwood forested farm woodland enrolled in
the farmland program as of April 1, 2025.

Line 28b: Total number of acres of all land now classified as farm woodland. Enter the sum of lines
28a(1) through 28a(3). If using the Excel form, this will calculate for you.

Line 28c: Total value of all land now classified as farm woodland. Enter the value of the land
included on line 28b.

Line 28d: Per acre rates used for farm woodland. These are the same rates as used for the tree
growth program, from lines 22a(1), 22a(2) and 22a(3).

Line 28d(1): Softwood. Enter the softwood rate per acre for your county from line 22a(1).

Line 28d(2): Mixed wood. Enter the mixed wood rate per acre for your county from line 22a(2).

Line 28d(3): Hardwood. Enter the hardwood rate per acre for your county from line 22a(3).
Line 29: Land withdrawn from the Farmland program:

Line 29a: Total number of parcels withdrawn from 4/2/24 through 4/1/25. Enter the total
number of parcels (or portions of parcels) withdrawn from Farmland or transferred to other
current use classifications (open space, tree growth, working waterfront) between 4/2/24 and
4/1/25. Do not include parcels withdrawn after 4/1/25.

Line 29b: Total number of acres withdrawn from 4/2/23 through 4/1/24. Enter the total
number of acres first withdrawn or transferred from Farmland as of 4/1/25. This should equal the
number of acres for the parcels on line 29a.

Line 29c¢: Total value of withdrawal penalties assessed from 4/2/23 through 4/1/24. Enter all
penalties assessed. Include penalties that have not yet been paid. Include penalties for farm
woodland withdrawal, even if the amount required to be calculated is equal to the Tree Growth
Tax Law penalty as calculated under 36 M.R.S. § 1112.

Open Space. Open Space refers specifically to land enrolled in the Open Space program. Land which
may also be referred to as ‘open space,’ such as common land in a subdivision, should not be included in
Lines 30-34.

Line 30: Number of parcels enrolled in the Open Space program as of April 1, 2025. Enter the
number of all parcels enrolled in the Open Space program, even those parcels that have been withdrawn
after April 1, 2025.

Line 31: Number of acres first enrolled in the Open Space program for April 1, 2025. Enter the
number of acres from new applications submitted between 4/2/24 and 4/1/25 and approved for the tax
year beginning 4/1/25.



Line 32: Total number of acres currently enrolled in the Open Space program. Enter the number
of acres enrolled in the Open Space program as of 4/1/2025, including those reported on Line 31.
Include acres that have been withdrawn from the program after April 1, 2025. If a parcel has only a
portion enrolled in the current use program, include only the acreage associated with the enrolled
portion.

Line 33: Total value of land enrolled in the Open Space program. Enter the total assessed value of
all land included on line 32. If only a portion of a parcel is enrolled, include only the assessed value
associated with the enrolled portion.
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Line 34: Land withdrawn from the Open Space program:

Line 34a: Total number of parcels withdrawn from 4/2/23 through 4/1/24. Enter the total
number of parcels (or portions of parcels) withdrawn from the Open Space program or

transferred to another current use program (tree growth, farmland, working waterfront) between
4/2/23 and 4/1/24. Do not include parcels withdrawn after 4/1/24.

Line 34b: Total number of acres withdrawn from 4/2/23 through 4/1/24. Enter the total
number of acres first withdrawn or transferred from the Open Space program as of 4/1/24. This
should be the number of acres for the parcels on line 34a.

Line 34c: Total value of withdrawal penalties assessed from 4/2/23 through 4/1/24. Enter
all penalties assessed. Include penalties that have not yet been paid.

Working Waterfront Tax Law Program Property

Line 35: Number of parcels enrolled in the Working Waterfront program as of April 1, 2025.
Enter the number of all parcels enrolled in the Working Waterfront program, even if the parcels have
been withdrawn after April 1, 2025.

Line 36: Number of acres first enrolled in the Working Waterfront program for April 1, 2025.
Enter the number of acres from new applications submitted between 4/2/24 and 4/1/25 and
approved for tax year beginning 4/1/25.

Line 37: Total number of acres currently enrolled in the Working Waterfront program. Enter
the number of acres enrolled in the Working Waterfront program as of April 1, 2025, including those
reported on line 36. Include acres that have been withdrawn after April 1, 2025. If a parcel has only a
portion enrolled in the current use program, include only the acreage associated with the enrolled
portion.

Line 38: Total value of land enrolled in the Working Waterfront program. Enter the total assessed
value of all land included on line 37. If only a portion of a parcel is enrolled, include only the assessed
value associated with the enrolled portion.



Line 39: Land withdrawn from the Working Waterfront program:

Line 39a: Total number of parcels withdrawn from 4/2/24 through 4/1/25. Enter the total
number of parcels (or portions of parcels) withdrawn from the Working Waterfront program

or transferred to another current use program (tree growth, farmland, open space) between
4/2/24 and 4/1/25. Do not include parcels withdrawn after 4/1/25.

Line 39b: Total number of acres withdrawn from 4/2/24 through 4/1/25. Enter the total
number of acres first withdrawn or transferred from the Working Waterfront program as of
4/1/25. This should be the number of acres for the parcels on line 39a.

Line 39c: Total value of withdrawal penalties assessed from 4/2/24 through 4/1/25. Enter
all penalties assessed. Include penalties that have not yet been paid.

Exempt Property

Line 40: Enter the exempt value of all the following classes of property which are exempt from
property taxation by law.

Line 40a: Public Property As defined by 36 M.R.S. §§ 651(1)(A) and (B):
Line 40a(1): United States. Enter the exempt value of property of the United States.

Line 40a(2): State of Maine (excluding roads). Enter the exempt value of property of the
State of Maine. Do not include the value of any State roads that pass through your
municipality.

Line 40b: Maine real estate owned by the Water Resources Board of the State of New
Hampshire. Enter the value of property located in Maine that is exempt under 36 M.R.S. §
651(1)(B-1).

Line 40c: Property of any Maine public municipal corporation appropriated to public
uses. Enter the exempt value of property located in your municipality, owned by another
municipality or county, and used for public purposes. This value includes property owned by a
quasi-municipal corporation such as a water district or a sanitation district. See 36 M.R.S. §
651(1)(D).

Line 40d: Certain water, power, or light property of other Maine public municipal
corporations. Enter on this line, pursuant to 36 M.R.S. § 651(1)(E), the value of pipes, fixtures,
hydrants, conduits, gatehouses, pumping stations, reservoirs and dams, used only for reservoir
purposes, of property owned by another public municipal corporation in Maine. This property
must be used for supplying water, power, or light.
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Line 40e: Certain airport property of Maine public municipal corporations. Enter on this line
the value of airports and landing fields used for airport or aeronautical purposes, including any
structures built on that property. See 36 M.R.S. § 651(1)(E).

Line 40f: Landing area of privately owned airports with free public use. Enter on this line the
value of the landing area of an airport that is privately owned, if the owner grants free use of the
landing area to the public. See 36 M.R.S. § 656(1)(C).

Line 40g: Certain sewage disposal property of other Maine public municipal corporations.
Enter on this line, pursuant to 36 M.R.S. § 651(1)(G), the value of pipes, fixtures, conduits,
buildings, pumping stations, and other facilities of other public municipal corporations used for
sewage disposal.
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Line 40h: Property of benevolent and charitable institutions. (36 M.R.S. § 652(1)(A)). Enter
on this line

Line 40i: Property of literary and scientific institutions. (36 M.R.S. § 652(1)(B)). Enter on this
line

Line 40j: Property of veteran organizations. (36 M.R.S. § 652(1)(E)). Enter on this line
Property of the American Legion, Veterans of Foreign Wars, American Veterans, Sons of Union
Veterans of the Civil War, Disabled American Veterans and Navy Clubs of the USA.

Line 40k: Property of central labor councils, chambers of commerce and boards of trade. 36
M.R.S. § 652(1)(F)). Enter on this line

Line 401: Property of houses of religious worship and parsonages (§ 652(1)(G)). The exempt
value of parsonages is limited to $20,000 of real property and $6,000 of personal property.

Line 40m: Property owned or held in trust for fraternal organizations operating under the
lodge system (do not include college fraternities) (§ 652(1)(H))

Line 40n: Personal property leased by a benevolent and charitable organization exempt from
taxation under § 501 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 and the primary purpose is the
operation of a hospital licensed by the Dept. of Health and Human Services, health
maintenance organization or blood bank (§ 652(1)(K)) (Value of property owned by a
hospital should be reported on line 40h)

Line 400: Exempt value of real property of all persons determined to be legally blind (§ 654-
A) ($4,000 adjusted by certified ratio)

Line 40p: Aqueducts, pipes and conduits of any corporation supplying a municipality with
water (§ 656(1)(A))
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Line 40q: Animal Waste storage facilities certified as exempt by the Department of
Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry: Include only the value of the pits or other structures
directly utilized in Nutrient Management. Barns used to house animals or other aspects of the farm
are not eligible for exemption or reimbursement. (§ 656(1)(J))

Line 40r: Pollution control facilities that are certified as such by the Commissioner of
Environmental Protection (§ 656(1)(E))

Line 40s: Snowmobile trail grooming equipment registered under 12 M.R.S. § 13113 (§
655(1)(T)) (reimbursable exemption)
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Line 40t: Veteran Exemptions. The following information is necessary in order to calculate
reimbursement

Municipalities are entitled to reimbursement of 50% of revenue lost due to any statutory exemption
enacted after April 1, 1978. While the initial veteran exemption was enacted before that date, the law
has changed several times since then. The veteran exemption information on the following lines is
broken up into two sections to allow for the correct calculation of State reimbursements to
municipalities.

Section 1: Veterans who served during a federally recognized war period (lines 40t(1) - 40t(9)).

Section 1 should include only veterans who served during a federally recognized war period, including:

(1) World War I — April 6, 1917, through November 11, 1918.

(2) World War I (service in Russia) — April 6, 1917, through March 31, 1920.

(3) World War II — December 7, 1941, through December 31, 1946.

(4) Korean Conflict — June 27, 1950, through January 31, 1955.

(5) Vietnam Era — February 28, 1961, through May 7, 1964, for veterans who served in the Republic
of Vietnam.

(6) Persian Gulf War — August 2, 1990, through the date that the United States Government
recognizes as the end of the Persian Gulf War. The Persian Gulf War includes, but is not limited
to, Operation Enduring Freedom, Operation Iraqi Freedom, and Operation New Dawn.

Widower:

Line 40t(1): A: Living male spouse or male parent of a deceased veteran. B: $6,000 adjusted by the
certified ratio. Enter the number of exemptions granted for widowers or fathers of post-WWI veterans
eligible for exemption on line A. Exclude cooperative housing corporation shareholders. Multiply
column A by $6,000 and your certified ratio, and enter the result in column B. This will equal the total
exempt value for this group of veterans.
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Revocable Living Trusts:

Line 40t(2): A: Permanently and totally disabled veteran (or their widow) who is the beneficiary
of a revocable living trust. B: $50,000 adjusted by the certified ratio. Enter in column A the
number of exemptions granted for post-WWI veterans who are beneficiaries of a revocable living trust
(or qualified spouses) and who qualify for a $50,000 exemption for permanently and totally disabled
veterans under 36 M.R.S. § 653(1)(D-1). Exclude cooperative housing corporation shareholders.
Multiply column A by $50,000 and your certified ratio, and enter the result in column B. If an
exemption is less than the product of $50,000 multiplied by the certified ratio, include only the
exemption granted in the total in column B. This will equal the total exempt value for this group of
veterans.

Line 40t(3): A: All other veterans (or their widows) who are the beneficiaries of revocable living
trusts. B: $6,000 adjusted by the certified ratio. (§ 653(1)(C) or (D)) Enter in column A the number
of exemptions granted for all other post-WWI veterans who are beneficiaries of a revocable living trust
(or qualified family members) not included on line 2. Exclude cooperative housing corporation
shareholders. Multiply column A by $6,000 and your certified ratio and enter the result in column B.
This will equal the total exempt value for this group of veterans.

WWI Veterans:

Line 40t(4): A: WWI veteran (or their widow) enlisted as Maine resident. B: $7,000 adjusted by
the certified ratio. Enter in column A the number of exemptions granted for WWI veterans who were
Maine residents at the time of enlistment in the U.S. Armed Forces (or qualified spouses). Exclude
cooperative housing corporation shareholders. Multiply column A by $7,000 and your certified ratio,
and enter the result in column B. This should be equal to the total exempt value for this group of
veterans. 36 M.R.S. (§ 653(1)(C-1)or (D-2))

Line 40t(5): A: WWI veteran (or their widow) enlisted as non-Maine resident. B: $7,000 adjusted
by the certified ratio. Enter in column A the number of exemptions granted for WWI veterans who
were not Maine residents at the time of enlistment in the U.S. Armed Forces (or qualified spouses).
Exclude permanently and totally disabled veterans and cooperative housing corporation shareholders.
Multiply column A by $7,000 and your certified ratio, and enter the result on column B. This will
equal the total exempt value for this group of veterans. (36 M.R.S. § 653(1)(C-1) or (D-2))

Permanently and Totally Disabled Veterans:

Line 40t(6): A: Permanently and totally disabled status veteran or their unremarried widow. B:
$50,000 adjusted by the certified ratio. Enter in column A the number of exemptions granted to all
permanently and totally disabled veterans (or qualified spouses) eligible for the $50,000 exemption
under § 653(1)(D-1). Exclude any veterans (or spouses) included on line 2. Exclude cooperative
housing corporation shareholders. Multiply column A by $50,000 and your certified ratio, and enter the
result on column B. This will equal the total exempt value for this group of veterans.
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Cooperative Housing Corporation Veterans:

Line 40t(7): A: Qualifying Shareholder of Cooperative Housing Corporation. B: $6,000 adjusted
by the certified ratio. Enter in column A the number of veteran exemptions granted for cooperative
housing corporation shareholders. Multiply column A by $6,000 and your certified ratio, and enter the
result on column B. This will equal the total exempt value for this group of veterans. (36 M.R.S. §
653(2))

All Other Veterans:

Line 40t(8): A: All other veterans (or their widows/widowers, qualified children, or qualified
parents) enlisted as Maine residents. B: $6,000 adjusted by the certified ratio. Enter in column A
the number of exemptions granted for all veterans who were Maine residents at the time of enlistment in
the U.S. Armed Forces (or qualified family members) and are not included in lines 40t(1) — (7).
Multiply column A by $6,000 and your certified ratio, and enter the result in column B. This will equal
the total exempt value for this group of veterans. (36 M.R.S. § 653(1)(C)(1))

Line 40t(9): A: All other veterans (or their family members) enlisted as non-Maine residents. B:
$6,000 adjusted by the certified ratio. Enter in column A the number of exemptions granted for all
veterans who were not Maine residents at the time of enlistment in the U.S. Armed Forces (or qualified
family members) and are not included in lines 40t(1) — (7). Multiply column A by $6,000 and your
certified ratio and enter the result on column B. This will equal the total exempt value for this group of
veterans. (36 M.R.S. § 653(1)(C)(1))

Section 2: Veterans who served during another Maine recognized service period (lines 40t(10)
through 40t(12)). Section 2 includes only veterans who served during one of the other Maine
recognized service periods, which includes service during the periods:

(1) February 1, 1955, through May 7, 1975, but not prior to 2/1/1955 or after 5/7/1975;

(2) August 24, 1982, through July 31, 1984; and

(3) December 20, 1989, through January 31, 1990.

Line 40t(10): A: Veteran (or their widow) disabled in the line of duty. B: $6,000 adjusted by the
certified ratio. Enter in column A the number of exemptions granted for veterans who served during
other Maine recognized service periods and were disabled in the line of duty. Include qualified family
members, but exclude any taxpayers included in lines 40t(1) — (9). Multiply column A by $6,000 and
your certified ratio and enter the result in column B. This will equal the total exempt value for this
group of veterans. (36 M.R.S. § 653(1)(C)(2) or (D))

Line 40t(11): A: Veteran (or their widow) who served during the periods from August 24, 1982 to
July 31, 1984 and December 20, 1989 to January 31, 1990. B: $6,000 adjusted by the certified
ratio. Enter in column A the number of exemptions granted for veterans who served during either of
these time periods and were not disabled in the line of duty. Exclude any taxpayers included in lines
40t(1) — (10). Multiply column A by $6,000 and your certified ratio and enter the result in column B.
This should be equal to the total exempt value for this group of veterans. [36 M.R.S. § 653(1)(C)(1) or

(D)]
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Line 40t(12): A: Veteran (or their widow) who served during the period from February 1, 1955
and August 4, 1964, but did not serve prior to February 1, 1955 or after August 4, 1964. B: $6,000
adjusted by the certified ratio. Enter in column A the number of exemptions granted. Exclude any
taxpayers included in lines from 40t(1) — (11). Multiply column A by $6,000 and your certified ratio,
and enter the result in column B. This should be equal to the total exempt value for this group of
veterans. [36 M.R.S. § 653(1)(C)(1) or (D)]

Line 40t(A): Total number of all veteran exemptions granted in 2025. Enter the sum of column A
for lines 40t(1) through 40t(12). This should equal the total number of veteran exemptions in your
municipality.

Line 40t(B): Total exempt value of all veteran exemptions granted in tax year 2025. Enter the sum
of column B for lines 40t(1) through 40t(12). This should equal the total exempt value for all qualified
veterans (or their family members) in your municipality.

Page 7
Line 40u: Solar and wind energy equipment (reimbursable exemption). § 655(1)(U) & 656(1)(k)

Line 40u(1): Total number of solar and wind energy equipment applications processed. Enter on
this line the total number of applications you processed between 4/2/23 and 4/1/24, including those that
were not approved.

Line 40u(2): Total number of solar and wind energy equipment applications approved. Enter the
total number of exemptions granted. This should equal the total number of renewable energy
exemptions in your municipality.

Line 40u(3): Total exempt value of solar and wind energy equipment. Enter the assessed value of
all exempt equipment included in all the exemptions on line 40u(2). This should equal the total assessed
value of all renewable energy exemptions in your municipality.
Line 40v: Other. Enter on these lines the information for all other property in your municipality that is
exempt from tax by law and is not included in one of the lines 40a — 40u. If you have more than three
types of this property, attach a schedule with the data for all property types, enter “More than three — see
attached” in Column A (Name of Organization) and enter the total exempt value in column C (Exempt
Value). These exemptions will not be found in Title 36.

MUNICIPAL RECORDS

This section provides information regarding the assessing office of your municipality.

Line 41a: Does your municipality have tax maps? If you entered no, go to Line 42. If you entered
yes, complete lines 41b, ¢, and d before moving to line 42.

Line 41b: Date. Enter the date the tax maps were originally obtained.
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Line 41c: Name of contractor. Enter the name of the contractor who created the tax maps.

Line 41d: Are your tax maps paper, GIS, or CAD? Enter the type of tax maps - paper, geographic
information system (“GIS”), or computer-aided design (“CAD”).

Line 42: Enter the number of land parcels within your municipality. This includes land parcels
with improvements. Do not enter the tax bill count.

Line 44a: Has a professional town-wide revaluation been completed in your municipality? Enter
“Yes” if your municipality has completed a professional town-wide revaluation; otherwise, enter “No”
and go to Line 45. If yes, answer questions 44b, 44c, 44d & 44e before moving to line 45.

Line 44b: Did the revaluation include any of the following?

Line 44b(1): Land. Enter “Yes” if the revaluation included any land; otherwise, enter “No.”.

Line 44b(2): Buildings. Enter “Yes” if the revaluation included any buildings; otherwise, enter
“NO,”_

Line 44b(3): Personal property. Enter “Yes” if the revaluation included any personal property;
otherwise, enter “No.”.

Line 44c: Effective date. Enter the effective date of the revaluation.
Line 44d: Contractor name. Enter the name of the contractor who completed the revaluation.

Line 44e: Cost. Enter the cost of the revaluation.

Page 8

Line 45: Enter the best choice that describes how the municipality administers its assessment
function.

Line 45a: Function. Enter the best choice that describes how the municipality operates the assessment
function. Choose either Single Assessor: Assessors’ Agent: or Board of Assessors.

Line 45b: Name. Enter the name of the assessor if you entered Single Assessor or Assessors’ Agent
entered on line 45a.

Line 45c: Email address. Enter the email address of the person entered on line 45b.

Line 46: Enter the beginning and ending dates of the fiscal year in your municipality. Enter the
beginning date and ending date of your municipality’s fiscal year.
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Line 47: Interest rate charged on overdue 2025 property taxes. The interest rate is usually voted
upon at the same time the vote to raise a tax is conducted. The maximum allowable rate in 2025 is
7.50%. See 36 M.R.S. § 505.

Line 48: Date(s) that 2025 property taxes are due. The due date is usually voted upon at the same
time the vote to raise a tax is conducted.

Line 49a: Enter “Yes” if your municipality has computerized assessment records; otherwise, enter
“No.” Ifno, go to Line 50. If yes, complete line 49b before moving to line 50.

Line 49b: Name of software used. If you entered “Yes” on Line 49a, enter the name of the software
program here.

Line 50: Has your municipality implemented a local tax relief program under 36 M.R.S. §
6232(1)?
Line 50a: If no, go to line 51. If yes, complete lines 50b and 50c before moving to line 51.

Line 50b: How many people qualified? If you entered “Yes” on line 50a, enter the number of people
who qualified for this program.

Line 50c: How much relief was granted? If you entered “Yes” on line 50a, enter the amount of relief
that was granted through this program.

Line 51: Has your municipality implemented a local senior volunteer tax credit program under 36
M.R.S. § 6232(1-A)?

Line 51a: If no, you may skip lines 51b and 5S1c.

Line 51b: How many people qualified? If you entered “Yes” on Line 51a, enter the number of
qualified people who received this credit.

Line 51c: How much relief was granted? If you entered “Yes” on Line 51a, enter the amount of tax
relief your municipality granted to elderly property owners.

Line 52: Has your municipality implemented a local property tax deferral for senior citizens
under 36 M.R.S. § 6271?

Line 52a: If no, you may skip lines 52b and 52c.

Line 52b: How many people qualified? If you entered “Yes” on Line 51a, enter the number of
qualified people who received this deferral.

Line 52¢: How much relief was granted? If you entered “Yes” on Line 52a, enter the amount of tax
your municipality deferred for senior property owners.
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Assessor(s) Signatures: The municipality must be identified; each assessor must sign the form on the
lines provided and the form must be dated.

NOTICE: This return must be completed and sent to the Property Tax Division by November 1,
2025 or within 30 days after commitment date, whichever is later, in order to avoid reduction or
loss of any entitlement under the Tree Growth Tax Law reimbursement program for the 2025 tax
year.

Page 9
Valuation Information
Section 1: Complete the chart with any new or converted residential buildings along with any
demolished buildings. Enter the increase or decrease in value and compute the net change in value in

each property type.

Section 2: List new industrial or commercial growth between 4/2/24 and 4/1/25. List the full market
value and any additional equipment, machinery, etc.

Section 3: List extreme losses in valuation between 4/2/24 and 4/1/25; provide a brief explanation of the
reason for the loss and provide the full market value before the loss.

Section 4: Use this section to explain any general increases or decreases in valuation that occurred
because of revaluation, change in ratio used, adjustments, etc.

2025 Municipal Tax Rate Calculation Form

This form combines the Standard Form and the Enhanced Form, and is applicable to all
municipalities.

The following computations provide you with the data that is necessary to complete the Municipal Tax
Assessment Warrant, Certificate of Assessment to Municipal Treasurer and Municipal Valuation Return.
Enter the name of your municipality if that line is not prefilled.

Line 1: Total taxable value of real estate. If this line isn’t already filled, enter the amount from page 1,
line 6.

Line 2: Total taxable value of personal property. If this line isn’t already filled, enter the amount from
page 1, line 10.

Line 3: Total taxable value of real estate and personal property. If this line isn’t already filled, enter
sum of line 1 and line 2. This amount should match page 1, line 11 of the MVR.
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Line 4: Homestead exemption

4(a): Total exempt value for all homestead exemptions granted. If this line isn’t already filled,
enter the amount from page 1, line 14f.

4(b): Homestead exemption reimbursement value. If this line isn’t already filled, multiply line
4a by 0.76 and enter the result here.

Line 5(a): Total exempt value of all BETE qualified property. If this line isn’t already filled, enter the
amount from page 2, line 15c.

Line 5(b): BETE exemption reimbursement value. The statutory standard reimbursement for 2025 is
50%. If this line isn’t already filled, enter the amount from the Enhanced BETE Sheet, line 4(a).

Line 6: Total valuation base. If this line isn’t already filled, enter the sum of lines 3, 4(b), and 5(b).
ASSESSMENTS

Line 7: County tax. Enter your municipality’s share of the county budget for the current tax year. Line
8: Municipal appropriation. Enter the municipal budget for the current tax year (4/1/24 — 3/31/25).

Line 9: TIF financial plan amount. Enter the amount of tax assessed on tax increment financing
district property that will be allocated to a dedicated account and will be used to finance authorized TIF-
related expenses. This should match the sum of lines 16(c) and 16(d) on page 2.

Line 10: Local education appropriation. Enter the net amount of local anticipated education costs to
be raised, as stated on school warrant. Adjust this amount to municipal fiscal year.

Line 11: Total assessments. If this line isn’t already filled, enter the sum of lines 7 through 10.
ALLOWABLE DEDUCTIONS

Line 12: Anticipated state municipal revenue sharing. Enter the estimated amount of revenue sharing
funds from the State Treasurer’s Office. Each year’s projection is posted to the State Treasurer’s Office
website: www.maine.gov/treasurer/revenue-sharing/projections.

Line 13: Other revenues. This amount includes all other revenues appropriated to reduce the necessary
commitment. Common categories include excise tax revenue, tree growth reimbursement, renewable
energy equipment reimbursement, interest paid on a bank account and appropriated surplus revenue. Do
not include BETE or homestead reimbursements.

Line 14: Total deductions. If this line isn’t already filled, enter the sum of lines 12 and 13.

Line 15: Net to be raised by local property tax rate. If this line isn’t already filled, enter line 11 less
line 14.

Line 16: Compute the maximum allowable tax by multiplying amount on line 15 by 1.05.
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Line 17: Compute the minimum allowable tax rate by dividing amount on line 15 by amount on line 6.
Line 18: Compute the maximum tax rate by dividing amount on line 16 by amount on line 6.

Line 19: Compute the tax amount to be committed by multiplying the amount on line 3 by the selected
tax rate. The rate selected must be between the rate calculated on line 17 and the rate calculated on line
18. This amount should match the amount entered on page 1, line 13.

Line 20: Compute the maximum overlay by multiplying the net amount to be raised by local property tax
rate, located on line 15, by .05.

Line 21: Compute the homestead exemption reimbursement by multiplying the value on line 4b by the
selected tax rate on line 19. Enter the result in column 3 and on line 8 of the Assessment Warrant.

Line 22: Compute the BETE reimbursement by multiplying the BETE exempt value, entered on line 5b,
by the selected tax rate entered on line 19. Enter the result in column 3 and on line 9 of the Assessment
Warrant.

Line 23: Compute the overlay amount: enter the sum of the tax for commitment amount computed on
line 19, column 3 plus the homestead exemption reimbursement amount entered on line 21, column 3 plus
the BETE reimbursement amount on line 22, column 3. Subtract the amount on line 15 from that total.
Enter the result in column 3 and on line 5 of the Assessment Warrant. IF the overlay computed on line
23 exceeds the maximum overlay computed on line 20, you should enter a lower tax rate on line 19,
column 2.

Enhanced Business Equipment Tax Exemption Calculation Sheet

Most of the lines on this page will be automatically calculated. There are two lines that you may need to
enter manually:

Line 3a. Enter the percent value of captured assessed value retained by the municipality and allocated
for the municipality’s own authorized TIF project costs if approved on or before 4/1/2008. Any TIF
projects approved after 4/1/2008 are not included on this line. If an amendment to a TIF approved on or
before 4/1/2008 is made after that date, the changes enacted by the amendment are not included on this
line.

Line 3b. Enter the value of the portion of eligible equipment in the BETE program attributable to
captured assessed value located in TIF districts in the municipality where the TIF revenue is placed in a
municipal retention dedicated account.
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